Our areas of research

Our various research projects reflect the wide range of applications for simulations. Our aim is to work on the further development of simulations and to incorporate the latest findings into our crowd:it software.

Building Information Modeling

Building Information Modeling (BIM) opens the door for many other technologies to be seamlessly integrated into the design process. In particular, simulation can enrich the BIM model and provide additional benefits. We are conducting extensive research in this area to develop an accepted and standardized approach.

01

BEYOND

The BEYOND research project has been launched to improve the basis for decision-making in the early design phases: it aims to use new BIM-based solutions in combination with artificial intelligence (AI) methods and people flow simulation.

Read more
02

AHEAD

In AHEAD, BEYOND's predecessor project, we explored the integration of pedestrian flow simulation into Building Information Modeling (BIM) to establish it as a digital planning tool in the building lifecycle and make it more readily usable.

Read more

Event Safety

The accident at the Love Parade in Duisburg in 2010 showed how important it is to consider safety at events. Even if one hundred percent safety can never be guaranteed, the residual risk can be significantly reduced with crowd flow simulations. This is why we have been working for years on various issues in this area, from multi-scalar simulation to live forecasting.

01

ESCAPE Pro

The goal of the ESCAPE PRO innovation project is to further develop the demonstrator developed in the ESCAPE research project in a user-oriented manner, so that the implementation of simulations can be integrated into police deployment planning.

Read more
02

ESCAPE

ESCAPE aims to contribute to the improvement of security at major events taking place in parallel. Macroscopic and microscopic simulation models will be combined and compared with real data in order to provide security authorities with comprehensive preparation for such particularly challenging situations.

Read more
03

S2UCRE

The aim of the Franco-German research project is to explore new rescue and security technologies for mass events in complex, distributed and confusing environments. Legally compliant monitoring, analysis and simulation technologies will be explored.

Read more

Pandemic research

At the very beginning of the pandemic, it became clear that people flow simulations could be used not only to investigate high densities, e.g. at events, but also to analyze social distancing or the incidence of infection. We investigated this in two different projects.

01

CovidSim

In order to prevent the spread of infection in system-relevant infrastructures, the simulation of pandemic outbreaks in CovidSim has been investigated on a microscopic level. This makes it possible to understand the processes of infection spread and to derive and clearly communicate reliable measures.

Read more
02

DISTANSIM

DISTANSIM has analyzed how distancing can be modeled in passenger flow simulations and how it can be included as a parameter in the simulator. This can be used, for example, to test how to further improve the implementation of social distancing policies at stations.

Read more

Selected Publications

  • openBIM for Occupant Movement Analysis Industry Insight Paper
    > more
  • Walking on stairs: Experiment and model.
    > more
  • Simulation of the Neuschwanstein Castle: Egress of a fairy castle
    > more
Go to all publications

Do you have any questions?

We are happy to advise you.

Arrange a non-binding introductory appointment with one of our experts now.

We look forward to hearing from you!

 

crossmenuchevron-down

Unsere Forschungsbereiche

Die umfangreichen Einsatzbereiche von Simulationen zeigen sich auch in unseren verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten. Damit möchten wir einerseits an der Weiterentwicklung der Simulationen arbeiten, und andererseits die neuesten Erkenntnisse in unsere Software crowd:it einfließen lassen.

Building Information Modeling

Building Information Modeling (BIM) eröffnet vielen anderen Technologien die Möglichkeit, sich nahtlos in den Planungsprozess zu integrieren. Vor allem Simulationen können damit das BIM Modell anreichern und zusätzlichen Nutzen schaffen. Um dafür eine anerkannte und standardisierte Vorgehensweise auszuarbeiten, forschen wir in diesem Bereich intensiv.

01

BEYOND

Um die Entscheidungsgrundlage in frühen Designphasen zu verbessern, wurde das Forschungsprojekt BEYOND begonnen: es zielt darauf ab, neue BIM-basierte Lösungen in Verbindung mit Verfahren der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) und der Personenstromsimulation einzusetzen.

mehr erfahren
02

AHEAD

In AHEAD, dem Vorgängerprojekt von BEYOND, haben wir die Einbindung von Personenstromsimulationen in Building Information Modeling (BIM) untersucht, um diese als digitales Planungswerkzeug im Gebäudelebenszyklus zu etablieren und noch schneller nutzbar zu machen.

mehr erfahren

Veranstaltungssicherheit

Das Unglück auf der Love Parade in Duisburg 2010 hat gezeigt, wie wichtig es ist, sich mit der Sicherheit auf Veranstaltungen auseinander zu setzen. Auch wenn sich nie eine hunderprozentige Sicherheit gewährleisten lässt, kann man mit Personenstromsimulationen das Restrisiko deutlich verringern. Deshalb beschäftigen wir uns seit Jahren mit verschiedenen Fragestellungen in diesem Bereich, von der multiskalaren Simulation bis zu Live-Vorhersagen.

01

ESCAPE Pro

Zielsetzung des Innovationsprojekts ESCAPE PRO ist es, den im Forschungsprojekt ESCAPE entwickelten Demonstrator anwenderorientiert weiterzuentwickeln, damit die Durchführung von Simulationen in die polizeiliche Einsatzplanung integriert werden kann.

mehr erfahren
02

ESCAPE

ESCAPE möchte dazu beitragen, die Sicherheit bei parallel stattfindenden Großveranstaltungen zu erhöhen. Es sollen makroskopische und mikroskopische Simulationsmodelle miteinander verbunden und mit Realdaten abgeglichen werden, um eine umfassende Vorbereitung für Sicherheitsbehörden bei solchen besonders herausfordernden Lagen zu ermöglichen.

mehr erfahren
02

S2UCRE

Ziel des deutsch-französischen Forschungsvorhabens ist die Erforschung neuer Rettungs- und Sicherheitstechnologien für Massenveranstaltungen in komplexen, verteilten und unübersichtlichen Umgebungen. Hierbei sollen rechtlich konforme Monitoring-, Analyse- und Simulationstechnologien erforscht werden.

mehr erfahren

Pandemieforschung

Gleich zur Beginn der Pandemie hat sich gezeigt, dass Personenstromsimulationen nicht nur für die Untersuchung von hohen Dichten z.B. auf Veranstaltungen verwendet werden können, sondern auch bei der Analyse von Abstandhalten oder des Infektionsgeschehens. Dies haben wir in zwei unterschiedlichen Projekten untersucht.

01

CovidSim

Um die Infektionsausbreitung in systemrelevanten Infrastrukturen zu vermeiden, wurden in CovidSim die Simulation von Pandemieausbreitungen auf einer mikroskopischen Ebene untersucht. Damit können Infektionsausbreitungsprozesse verstanden, belastbare Maßnahmen abgeleitet und klar kommuniziert werden.

mehr erfahren
02

DISTANSIM

In DISTANSIM wurde analysiert, wie Abstandhalten in Personenstromsimulationen modelliert und dies als Parameter in den Simulator eingebaut werden kann. Damit kann zum Beispiel an Bahnhöfen getestet werden, wie sich Maßnahmen zur Umsetzung der Abstandsregelungen weiter verbessern lassen.

mehr erfahren

Sie haben Fragen?

Wir beraten Sie gerne.

Vereinbaren Sie jetzt einen unverbindlichen Kennenlerntermin mit einem unserer Expertinnen.

Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Ausgewählte Publikationen

  • Normgerechte Räumungsberechnung mit Individualmodellen
    > mehr
  • Fachgutachten Fluchtwege
    > mehr
  • Wann ist ein Stau ein Stau?
    > mehr
  • Neue Wege für die Sicherheit in Arbeitsstätten
    > mehr
  • Industry Insight Paper zu BIM als Enabler für Simulationen (in Englisch)
    > mehr
  • Methoden zur Abbildung menschlichen Navigationsverhaltens bei der Modellierung von Fußgängerströmen (Dissertation)
    > mehr
Zu allen Publikationen
crossmenuchevron-down